Skip navigation.
New Mexico State University

NMSU Faculty Awards

Regents Professorships

The Regents Professorship was established in 2001 by the New Mexico State University Board of Regents to recognize faculty who have made outstanding contributions to New Mexico States mission as a land-grant, Carnegie Foundation Doctoral/Research University, and to honor contributions in areas of education, research, extension education and public service. Regents Professors hold the title for as long as they continue to teach at New Mexico State University.

2008 Recipients

  • Elba Serrano, Biology
  • Nancy Baker, Government

Previous recipients

Westhafer Award for Excellence in Teaching and Research

The Westhafer Award is given in alternating years for excellence in teaching, research and creative activity. The Westhafer is presented in memory of Robert L. Westhafer, professor in the Department of Mathematics from 1946 to 1957. The annual award carries a monetary gift.

Call for nominations for the Westhafer Award for Excellence in Teaching

2012 Recipient for Research and Creative Activity

  • Shuguang Deng, Chemical Engineering

2011 Recipient for Teaching

  • Michèle Shuster, Biology

Previous recipients

New Mexico Professor of the Year

The U.S. Professors of the Year program salutes the most outstanding undergraduate instructors in the country–those who excel as teachers and influence the lives and careers of their students. It is recognized as one of the most prestigious awards honoring professors.

2012 Recipient

  • Kenneth Martin, Department of Finance

Previous recipients

Bromilow Awards

The Bromilow Awards are given annually by the College of Engineering in honor of Frank Bromilow, dean of the college from 1961 to 1974. The faculty award is given in alternating years for excellence in teaching and in research, and the staff award is given annually to a deserving support staff member. Recipients are selected by the College of Engineering.

2011 Recipients for Research and Service

  • Research Award: Phillip De Leon, Klipsch School of Electrical & Computer Engineering
  • Staff Service Award: Charles Park, Manufacturing Technology & Engineering Center

Previous recipients

Ralph B. Crouch Awards

Named for the late Ralph B. Crouch, professor of mathematics, head of the Department of Mathematical Sciences and associate dean of the Graduate School, the annual honor is awarded for outstanding contributions to the university. The award alternates between faculty and staff. The recognition includes a cash award.

2002 Recipient

  • Jim Billings, Department of Theatre Arts

Previous recipients

Dennis W. Darnall Faculty Achievement Awards

The Dennis Darnall Faculty Achievement Award recognizes faculty members who have demonstrated remarkable, broad-based accomplishments in teaching, research and service to the profession, the university and the community. The award carries a monetary gift and honors the achievements and services of Dennis W. Darnall as a New Mexico State University teacher, researcher, administrator, entrepreneur and civic leader.

Call for Nominations for the Dennis W. Darnall Faculty Achievement Award

2012 Recipient

  • Michele Nishiguchi, Department of Biology

Previous recipients

French Award for Improvement of Secondary Teaching

The French Award for Improvement of Secondary Teaching sponsors research and application of creative ideas. The award honors the memory of sisters Floy and Fannie French, education pioneers at the turn of the last century. The honor includes a $3,000 award.

2002 Recipient

  • Mary Beth Calhoon, Department of Special Education and Communication Disorders

Previous recipients

Globalization Award

The Globalization Award was initiated by the Center for International Programs to recognize individuals who promote international understanding, cooperation, involvement and development at New Mexico State University.

2004 Recipients

  • Greg Bloom, Center for Latin American & Border Studies
  • Robert Foster, Southwest Technology Development Institute
  • Jeanne Gleason, Agricultural Communications

Previous recipients

Garrey E. and Katherine T. Carruthers Chair in Economic Development

The endowed chair was established in 2004 with a $500,000 gift from Dean Garrey E. Carruthers and Mrs. Katherine T. Carruthers. The state matched the gift with $1 million. The chair will contribute to New Mexico State University’s focus on economic and community development, and help recruit and retain first-rate faculty.

2006 Recipient

  • Kevin Boberg, College of Business

Stan Fulton Chair for the Improvement of Border and Rural Schools

The chair, established in 2005, was created to enhance communication among New Mexico State University faculty, staff and students and pre-kindergarten through 12th grade constituents to improve border and rural schools. In this capacity, the chair will expand, improve and coordinate existing outreach programs and research activities.

2006 Recipient

  • Eric J. López, Department of Special Education & Communication Disorders

The S.P. and Margaret Manasse Chair

The S.P. and Margaret Manasse Chair was established in the College of Arts and Sciences in 1999. The chair is awarded each year to an arts and sciences faculty member as recognition for a lifetime of dedication to teaching and research.

2004 Recipient

  • William Eamon, History and Honors Program

Previous recipients

Racial Harmony Award

The Racial Harmony awards are presented annually to one person from the New Mexico State University campus and one or more from the community who have supported the students and promoted racial harmony.

2004 Recipient

  • Josephine De Leon, Associate Provost for Academic Affairs

Previous recipients

University Research Council Awards

The new University Research Council Awards for Exceptional Achievement in Creative Scholarly Activity are presented annually to early career and senior faculty and staff to increase recognition for exceptional research and other creative scholarly efforts.

2012 Recipients

  • Cathy Kinzer, Curriculum & Instruction
  • Hongmei Luo, Chemical Engineering
  • Stephen Rice, Psychology
  • Carmen Giménez Smith, English

Previous recipients

Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science

Election as a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science is an honor bestowed upon members by their peers. Fellows are recognized for meritorious efforts to advance science or its applications.

2012 Recipient

  • Elba Serrano, Biology